Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026
Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026
General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity Date
Candidates intending to participate in the 2026 primary election may begin soliciting and
accepting contributions. [§ 17-5-7(b)(2)] Monday, May 19, 2025

Candidates intending to participate in the 2026 general election, but not in the primary

election, may begin soliciting and accepting contributions. [§ 17-5-7(b)(2)] Monday, November 3, 2025

State Holiday - Christmas Day Thursday, December 25, 2025
State Holiday - New Year's Day Thursday, January 1, 2026
Ell;sctk(i?t/ of regular session for Alabama legislature and the first day of the legislative Tuesday, January 13, 2026
State Holiday- Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert E. Lee's Birthday Monday, January 19, 2026

Last day of regular session for Alabama legislature and last day of the legislative blackout,

- L .. Monday, January 19, 2026
unless a special legislative session is called.

Candidates seeking nomination by a party primary must file declaration of candidacy with
state party chairman (if seeking federal, state, circuit, district, or legislative office) or county
party chairman (if seeking county office) no later than this day by 5 PM; 116 days before
the election. [§ 17-13-5(a)]

Friday, January 23, 2026

Each political party authorized to hold a primary and wishing to hold such a presidential
preference primary shall, not less than 116 days before such primary is to be held, adopt
and file with the Secretary of State a resolution stating that intention, the method by which
electors are to indicate one or more preferences, the method by which delegates are to be
selected, elected, chose and replaced, and the pledge, if any, by which delegates are to be
bound. (§ 17-13-105)

Friday, January 23, 2026

State Holiday - George Washington and Thomas Jefferson's Birthday Monday, February 16, 2026
Mardi Gras - Observed in Baldwin and Mobile County only Tuesday, February 17, 2026
State party chairman must certify names of primary election candidates, except for

candidates for county offices to Secretary of State no later than this day by 5 PM; 82 days Thursday, February 26, 2026

prior to the primary. [§ 17-13-5(b)]

County party chairman must certify names of primary candidates for county office to

probate judge no later than this day by 5 PM; 82 days prior to the primary. [§ 17-13-5(b)] Thursday, February 26, 2026

This is the last day for political parties to submit to the probate judge for county offices and
the Secretary of State for state and federal offices any amendments or corrections to
certifications of candidates for the primary election; 76 days prior to primary election. (§ 17-
13-23)

Wednesday, March 4, 2026

The Secretary of State must certify names of opposed candidates for federal and state

offices to probate judge no later than 74 days prior to the primary. [§ 17-13-5(b)] Friday, March 6, 2026

The deadline for persons who do not wish to accept nomination in a primary is 71 days

before the date of the election. [§ 17-6-21(c)] Monday, March 9, 2026

Probate judge must issue public notice in each voting precinct of the requirement for and
the availability of registration and voting aids for all handicapped and elderly individuals no Friday, March 20, 2026
later than 60 days before any state election. [§ 21-4-23(b)]

The last day political parties can decline to accept and come under primary election law is
60 days prior to the election. (§ 17-13-42)

Probate judge must furnish list of qualified voters to the absentee election manager; 55
days prior to the primary election. [§ 17-11-5(b)]

Friday, March 20, 2026

Wednesday, March 25, 2026
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Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026

Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026

General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity

Date

Absentee ballots and supplies must be delivered to absentee election manager no later
than 55 days prior to the primary. (§ 17-11-12)

Wednesday, March 25, 2026

This is the last day to transmit absentee ballots to any UOCAVA voters whose absentee
ballot request is received at least 45 days prior to the primary (ballot transmittal 45 days
prior to the primary) per 52 U.S.C. § 20302(a)(8).

Saturday, April 4, 2026

This is the last day for candidates to present a list of desired election officers to their
county executive committee at least 45 days before the election. (§ 17-13-48)

Saturday, April 4, 2026

Last day of regular session for Alabama legislature and last day of the legislative blackout,
unless a special legislative session is called.

Monday, April 20, 2026

Probate judge must issue public notice in each voting precinct of the requirement for and
the availability of registration and voting aids for all handicapped and elderly individuals no
later than 60 days before any state election. [§ 21-4-23(b)] This date is for the statewide
primary runoff election.

Friday, April 17, 2026

State Holiday - Confederate Memorial Day

Monday, April 27, 2026

The first day for probate judge, sheriff, and clerk of the circuit court to appoint poll workers
is no more than 20 nor less than 15 days before the election. [§ 17-8-1(a)]

Wednesday, April 29, 2026

Probate judge must publish an alphabetical list of qualified electors by precinct, district or
subdivision in a newspaper of general circulation in county on or before the 20th day prior
to the election. (§ 17-4-1)

Wednesday, April 29, 2026

This is the last day to register to vote for the primary election. [§ 17-3-50(a)]

Monday, May 4, 2026

The last day for probate judge, sheriff, and clerk of the circuit court to appoint poll workers
no more than 20 days nor less than 15 days before an election. [§ 17-8-1(a)]

Monday, May 4, 2026

Probate judge must notify inspectors, returning officers, and clerks of their appointment
and publish a list of these appointments in a county newspaper. (§ 17-8-2)

Monday, May 4, 2026

First day election officials may begin testing automatic tabulating equipment for the primary
election to ascertain that equipment will correctly count votes cast. (Adm. Rule 307-X-1-
.04)

Tuesday, May 5, 2026

Probate judge must give notice of election, consisting of date of election and the officers
and subjects to be voted for and at least 14 days before each election. (§ 17-9-5)

Tuesday, May 5, 2026

First day probate judge may print poll lists or load registration data into electronic poll
books for the primary election. (§§ 17-4-2, 17-4-2.1)

Saturday, May 9, 2026

For any absentee application received on or after the 8th day prior to the election that does
not contain a copy of an approved form of identification, the absentee election manager
shall issue a provisional ballot to that voter. [§ 17-10-2(c)(1)]

Monday, May 11, 2026

Absentee applications returned by mail must be received not less than 7 days prior to the
election. [§ 17-11-3(a)]

Tuesday, May 12, 2026

Probate judge must publish a supplemental list of qualified electors by precinct, district or
subdivision in a newspaper of general circulation in the county on or before the 7th day
before the election. (§ 17-4-1)

Tuesday, May 12, 2026

An application for a voter who requires emergency treatment by a licensed physician within
5 days before an election may be forwarded to the absentee election manager by the
applicant or by his or her designee. [§ 17-11-3(d)]

Thursday, May 14, 2026

Prepared by Elections Division
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Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026

Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026

General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity

Date

This is the last day for the authority charged to hold a school of instruction for poll workers.

Probate judge must notify these election officials of time and place of instruction school
and must publish notice at least 48 hours before instruction school takes place; no less
than 5 days prior to the election. [§ 17-8-9(a)]

Thursday, May 14, 2026

Absentee applications returned by hand must be received not less than 5 days prior to the
election. [§ 17-11-3(a)]

Thursday, May 14, 2026

The last day probate judges can deliver election supplies to sheriffs is no less than 3 days
before the election. (§ 17-13-9)

Saturday, May 16, 2026

Absentee ballots being returned by hand to the absentee election manager must be
received no later than the close of business on the day prior to the election. (§ 17-11-18)

Monday, May 18, 2026

Primary Election

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

Absentee ballots being returned by mail to the absentee election manager must be
received no later than noon on this day. [§ 17-11-18(a)]

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

This is the last day for military and other UOCAVA voters in the primary to postmark an
absentee ballot returned by mail to the absentee election manager. [§17-11-18(b)]

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

The medical emergency designee must deliver absentee ballot to absentee election
manager no later than noon on this day. [§ 17-11-18(a)]

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

The inspector or returning officer must deliver the ballots and returns to the sheriff. [§§ 17-
12-8, 17-13-12]

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

The last day to file petitions with probate judge for county offices and with Secretary of
State for other offices to obtain ballot access as an independent candidate is no later than
5 PM on the day of the primary election. [§ 17-9-3(a)(3)]

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

The last day to file petitions with the Secretary of State for minor/third parties to gain ballot
access as a political party no later than 5 PM on the day of the primary election. [§ 17-6-
22(a)(1)]

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

The sheriff must deliver certificate of returns to chairman of county executive committee of
each political party participating in primary election by 10 AM on the Wednesday following
the election. [§ 17-13-14(a)]

Wednesday, May 20, 2026

The written affirmations of provisional voters, inspector challenge statements, and voter
reidentification forms must be delivered by the sheriff to the board of registrars by noon on
the day following the election. [§ 17-10-2(d)]

Wednesday, May 20, 2026

This is the last day candidates who would be eligible to be placed on primary runoff ballot
can decline to have his/her name placed on the ballot. (§ 17-13-19)

Friday, May 22, 2026

Deadline for voters whose ballot became provisional due to lack of identification to provide
identification (or provisional ballot and identification) including the address and telephone
number of the voter to the board of registrars no later than 5 PM [§ 17-10-2(a)(3)]

Friday, May 22, 2026

State Holiday - National Memorial Day

Monday, May 25, 2026

Absentee ballots submitted by UOCAVA voters must be accepted until noon this day. The
ballot must have been postmarked no later than election day and meet other absentee
ballot requirement to be counted. [§ 17-11-18(b)]

Tuesday, May 26, 2026

County executive committee must meet no later than noon and receive, canvass, and
tabulate returns by precinct and publicly declare results the Tuesday following the primary.
(§17-13-17)

Tuesday, May 26, 2026
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Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026
Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026
General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity Date
The board of registrars must deliver the provisional voter affirmations and inspector
challenge statements, with the certified findings attached, to the judge of probate no later Tuesday, May 26, 2026

than noon, 7 days after the election. [§ 17-10-2(e)]

At noon, the canvassing board shall tabulate provisional ballots which have been certified
by the board of registrars. The canvassing board must certify the results of the provisional
votes cast and must post one copy in the courthouse and must seal one copy into a
container designated for each political party, 7 days after the election. [§ 17-10-2(f)]

Tuesday, May 26, 2026

The chairman of county executive committee must certify to chairman of state executive
committee a statement and tabulation by precinct of results of the primary no later than 7 Tuesday, May 26, 2026
days after the election. (§ 17-13-17)

State executive committee must meet and receive, canvass, and tabulate returns and
provide Secretary of State with state primary election returns by precinct no later than Wednesday, May 27, 2026
noon, 8 days following the primary election. (§ 17-13-17)

The first day for probate judge, sheriff, and clerk of the circuit court to appoint poll workers

is no more than 20 nor less than 15 days before the election. [§ 17-8-1(a)] Wednesday, May 27, 2026

Chairman of state executive committee must meet no later than noon on this day to certify
to Secretary of State and chairman of county executive committee must certify to probate Wednesday, May 27, 2026
judge names of candidates to be placed on primary run-off ballot [§ 17-13-18(b)]

The Secretary of State shall, within two business days from the date the certification is
received from the chair of the state executive committee, certify to the probate judge of any
county where a second primary election is to be held the name or names of the candidates
certified. [§ 17-13-18(b)]

This is the last day to hand-deliver a voter registration form to the board of registrars for the
primary runoff election. [§§ 17-3-50(a), 1-1-4]

State Holiday - Jefferson Davis' Birthday Monday, June 1, 2026
This is the last day to register to vote electronically until midnight for the primary runoff
election; 15th day before the election. [§§ 17-3-50(a), 1-1-4]

This is the last day to postmark a voter registration form for the primary runoff election;
15th day before the election. [§§ 17-3-50(a), 1-1-4]

Friday, May 29, 2026

Friday, May 29, 2026

Monday, June 1, 2026

Monday, June 1, 2026

The last day for probate judge, sheriff, and clerk of the circuit court to appoint poll workers

is no more than 20 days nor less than 15 days before an election. [§ 17-8-1(a)] Monday, June 1, 2026

Probate judge must notify inspectors, returning officers, and clerks of their appointment

and publish a list of these appointments in a county newspaper. (§ 17-8-2) Monday, June 1, 2026

Absentee ballots and supplies for primary runoff must be delivered to absentee election
manager, 14 days after the primary. (§ 17-11-12)

No later than this day, the probate judge must give notice of this date for the primary runoff
election. election, consisting of date of election and officers and subjects to be voted for Tuesday, June 2, 2026
and on at least 14 days before each election. (§ 17-9-5)

First day election officials may begin testing automatic tabulating equipment for the primary
runoff election to ascertain that equipment will correctly count votes cast. (Adm. Rule 307- Tuesday, June 2, 2026
X-1-.04)

First day judge of probate may print poll lists or load registration data into electronic poll
books for the primary runoff election. (§§ 17-4-2, 17-4-2.1)

Tuesday, June 2, 2026

Saturday, June 6, 2026
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Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026

Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026

General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity

Date

For any absentee application received on or after the 8th day prior to the election that does
not contain a copy of an approved form of identification, the absentee election manager
shall issue a provisional ballot to that voter. [§ 17-10-2(c)(1)]

Monday, June 8, 2026

Absentee applications returned by mail must be received not less than 7 days prior to the
election. [§ 17-11-3(a)]

Tuesday, June 9, 2026

Governor, Secretary of State, and Attorney General must canvass election returns required
by law to be sent to Secretary of State within 22 days of the election. (§ 17-12-17)

Wednesday, June 10, 2026

This is the last day for the authority charged to hold a school of instruction for poll workers.
Probate judge must notify these election officials of time and place of instruction school
and must publish notice at least 48 hours before instruction school takes place; no less
than 5 days prior to the election. [§ 17-8-9(a)]

Thursday, June 11, 2026

Absentee applications returned by hand must be received not less than 5 days prior to the
election. [§ 17-11-3(a)]

Thursday, June 11, 2026

An application for a voter who requires emergency treatment by a licensed physician within
5 days before an election may be forwarded to the absentee election manager by the
applicant or by his or her designee. [§ 17-11-3(d)(2)]

Thursday, June 11, 2026

The last day probate judges can deliver election supplies to sheriffs is no less than 3 days
before the election. (§ 17-13-9)

Saturday, June 13, 2026

Absentee ballots being returned by hand to the absentee election manager must be
received no later than the close of business on the day prior to the election. (§ 17-11-18).

Monday, June 15, 2026

Primary Runoff Election

Tuesday, June 16, 2026

Absentee ballots being returned by mail to the absentee election manager must be
received no later than noon on this day. [§ 17-11-18(a)]

Tuesday, June 16, 2026

The inspector or returning officer must deliver the ballots and returns to the sheriff. (§§ 17-
12-8, 17-13-12)

Tuesday, June 16, 2026

This is the last day for military and other UOCAVA voters in the primary runoff to postmark
an absentee ballot returned by mail to the absentee election manager. [§ 17-11-18(b)]

Tuesday, June 16, 2026

The medical emergency designee must deliver absentee ballot to absentee election
manager no later than noon on this day. [§ 17-11-18(a)]

Tuesday, June 16, 2026

Sheriff must deliver certificate of returns to chairman of county executive committee of
each political party participating in primary runoff election by 10 AM on the Wednesday
following the primary runoff election. [§ 17-13-14(a)]

Wednesday, June 17, 2026

The written affirmations of provisional voters, inspector challenge statements, and voter
reidentification forms must be delivered by the sheriff to the board of registrars by noon on
the day following the election. [§ 17-10-2(d)]

Wednesday, June 17, 2026

Deadline for voters whose ballot became provisional due to lack of identification to provide
identification (or provisional ballot and identification) including the address and telephone
number of the voter to the board of registrars no later than 5 PM [§ 17-10-2(a)(3)]

Thursday, June 18, 2026

State Holiday - Juneteenth

Friday, June 19, 2026

Absentee ballots submitted by UOCAVA voters must be accepted until noon on this day.
The ballot must have been postmarked no later than election day and meet other absentee
ballot requirements to be counted. [§ 17-11-18(b)]

Tuesday, June 23, 2026

The board of registrars must deliver the provisional voter affirmations and inspector
challenge statements, with the certified findings attached, to the judge of probate no later
than noon; 7 days after the election. [§ 17-10-2(e)]

Tuesday, June 23, 2026
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Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026
Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026
General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity Date

At noon, the canvassing board shall tabulate provisional ballots which have been certified
by the board of registrars. The canvassing board must certify the results of the provisional
votes cast and must post one copy in the courthouse and must seal one copy into a
container designated for each political party 7 days after the election. [§ 17-10-2(f)]

Tuesday, June 23, 2026

Last day for county executive committee to meet and receive, canvass, and tabulate
returns by precinct and publicly declare results of primary runoff election no later than the Friday, June 26, 2026
second Friday following the runoff election. [§ 17-13-18(d)]

Last day for chairman of county executive committee to meet and certify to chairman of
state executive committee a statement and tabulation by precincts of results of primary run- Monday, June 29, 2026
off no later than noon, second Monday following the runoff election. [§ 17-13-18(d)]

State executive committee must meet at state capitol and receive, canvass, and tabulate
returns and provide Secretary of State with state primary runoff election returns by precinct Wednesday, July 1, 2026
on the third Wednesday following the primary runoff election. [§ 17-13-18(d)]

Chairman of state executive committee must certify names of those who have been
nominated in first or second primary election as candidates of his/her party for state offices
to Secretary of State. Chairman of county executive committee must certify names of those
who have been nominated in first or second primary election as candidates of his/her party
for county offices to probate judge not later than noon, the third Wednesday following the
primary runoff election. [§ 17-13-18(d)]

Wednesday, July 1, 2026

The state executive committee shall provide the Secretary of State with the runoff primary
returns by precincts according to county on a form authorized by the Secretary of State on Wednesday, July 1, 2026
the third Wednesday following the primary runoff election. [§ 17-13-18(e)]

State Holiday - Independence Day Observed Friday, July 3, 2026
Governor, Secretary of State, and Attorney General must canvass election returns required

by law to be sent to Secretary of State after the election within 22 days after the election. (§ Wednesday, July 8, 2026
17-12-17)

Absentee election manager must file list of applications for absentee ballots from primary
election with probate judge 60 days after the primary. [§ 17-11-5(c)]

The deadline for state or county executive committees to decide contests for county offices
is 90 days prior to general election. (§ 17-13-86)

The deadline for state executive committee to decide contests for state offices is 83 days
prior to general election. (§ 17-13-86)

Saturday, July 18, 2026

Wednesday, August 5, 2026

Wednesday, August 12, 2026

Absentee election managers must file list of applications for absentee ballots from primary

runoff election with probate judge 60 days after the primary runoff election. [§ 17-11-5(c)] Saturday, August 15, 2026

The last day for political parties to submit to the probate judge for county offices and the
secretary of state for state and federal offices any amendments or corrections to
certifications of candidates for the primary election is 71 days prior to general election. [§
17-6-21(b)]

The last day candidates can withdraw their name from ballot is 71 days before the date of
the election. [§ 17-6-21(c)]

Monday, August 24, 2026

Monday, August 24, 2026

Prepared by Elections Division
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Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026

Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026

General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity

Date

The Secretary of State must certify names of opposed candidates for federal and state
offices and for each candidate for office who has requested to be an independent
candidate and has filed a written petition, in accordance with Ala. Code section 17-9-3(b)
and 17-13-22, to the probate judge; 69 days prior to the general election.

Wednesday, August 26, 2026

Probate judge must issue public notice in each voting precinct of the requirement for and
the availability of registration and voting aids for all handicapped and elderly individuals no
later than 60 days before any state election. [§ 21-4-23(b)] This date for the general
election.

Friday, September 4, 2026

State Holiday - Labor Day

Monday, September 7, 2026

The last day for probate judge to furnish list of qualified voters to absentee election
managers is 55 days prior to the general election. [§ 17-11-5(b)]

Wednesday, September 9, 2026

The last day for absentee ballots and supplies to be delivered to the absentee election
manager is 55 days prior to the general election. (§ 17-11-12)

Wednesday, September 9, 2026

The last day candidates in primary election can accept contributions to retire a campaign
debt is 120 days after the primary election. [§ 17-5-7(b)(3)]

Wednesday, September 16, 2026

This is the last day to transmit absentee ballots to any UOCAVA voters whose absentee
ballot request is received at least 45 days prior to the general (ballot transmittal 45 days
prior to the general) per 52 U.S.C. § 20302(a)(8).

Saturday, September 19, 2026

State Holiday - Columbus Day

Monday, October 12, 2026

The first day for probate judge, sheriff, and clerk of the circuit court to appoint poll workers
is no more than 20 nor less than 15 days before the election. [§ 17-8-1(a)]

Wednesday, October 14, 2026

This is the last day for probate judge, sheriff, and clerk of the circuit court to appoint poll
workers is no more than 20 nor less than 15 days before the election. [§ 17-8-1(a)]

Monday, October 19, 2026

The probate judge must notify inspectors and returning officers of their appointment and
publish a list of these appointments in a county newspaper not more than 20, nor less than
15 days before the election. (§ 17-8-2)

Monday, October 19, 2026

This is the last day to register to vote for general election. [§ 17-3-50(a)]

Monday, October 19, 2026

The last day for probate judge to give notice of general election, consisting of date of
election and officers and subjects to be voted for and on is 14 days before each election. (§
17-9-5)

Tuesday, October 20, 2026

First day election officials may begin testing automatic tabulating equipment for the general
election to ascertain that equipment will correctly count votes cast. (Adm. Rule 307-X-1-
.04)

Tuesday, October 20, 2026

The last day candidates in the primary runoff election can accept contributions to retire a
campaign debt is 120 days after the primary runoff election. [§ 17-5-7(b)(2)]

Wednesday, October 14, 2026

First day judge of probate may print poll lists or load registration data into electronic poll
books for the general election. (§§ 17-4-2, 17-4-2.1)

Saturday, October 24, 2026

For any absentee application received on or after the 8th day prior to the election that does
not contain a copy of an approved form of identification, the absentee election manager
shall issue a provisional ballot to that voter. [§ 17-10-2(c)(1)]

Monday, October 26, 2026

Absentee applications being returned by mail must be received not less than 7 days prior
to the election. (§ 17-11-3)

Tuesday, October 27, 2026

An application for a voter who requires emergency treatment by a licensed physician within
5 days before an election may be forwarded to the absentee election manager by the
applicant or by his or her designee. [§ 17-11-3(d)]

Thursday, October 29, 2026
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Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025

Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026
Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026
General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity Date
This is the last day for authority charged to hold a school of instruction for poll workers. The
probate judge must notify these election officials of time and place of instruction school and
must publish notice at least 48 hours before instruction school takes place not less than 5
days before an election. [§ 17-8-9(a)]

Absentee applications returned by hand must be received not less than 5 days prior to the
election. [§ 17-11-3(a)]

The last day probate judges can deliver election supplies to sheriffs is not less than 3 days
before the election. (§ 17-13-9)

Thursday, October 29, 2026

Thursday, October 29, 2026

Saturday, October 31, 2026

Absentee ballots being returned by hand to the absentee election manager must be

received no later than the close of business on the day prior to the election. (§ 17-11-18) Monday, November 2, 2026

The chair of each local political party as defined in Section 17-13-40, any person whose
name is on the ballot as an independent, and any announced or known write-in candidates
shall be given a minimum of 24 hours notice of the time and place where the canvassing
board will meet to determine the number of write-in votes cast for each office on the ballot, Monday, November 2, 2026
ballot image, results tape, or other media prescribed by the Secretary of State by
administrative rule and shall be permitted to be present when the determination is made. [§
17-6-28(c)]

General Election Tuesday, November 3, 2026
Absentee ballots being returned by mail to the absentee election manager must be

received no later than noon on this day. [§ 17-11-18(a)] Tuesday, November 3, 2026
This is the last day for military and other UOCAVA voters in the general election to
postmark an absentee ballot returned by mail to the absentee election manager. [§ 17-11- Tuesday, November 3, 2026
18(b)]

The medical emergency designee must deliver absentee ballot to absentee election
manager no later than noon on this day. [§ 17-11-18(a)]

The inspectors or returning officer must deliver ballots and returns to sheriff. (§§ 17-12-8,
17-12-12)

Tuesday, November 3, 2026

Tuesday, November 3, 2026

Upon the closing of the polls, all write-in votes, which may be in the form of a ballot or, if an
electronic voting system is utilized in the polling place, a ballot image, results tape, or other
media as prescribed by the Secretary of State by administrative rule, from each polling
place in the county shall be returned to a central location in the county as determined by Tuesday, November 3, 2026
the judge of probate where the canvassing board shall determine the number of write-in
votes cast for each office on the ballot, ballot image, results tape, or other media as
prescribed by the Secretary of State by administrative rule. [§ 17-6-28(c)]

The written affirmations of provisional voters, inspector challenge statements, and voter
reidentification forms must be delivered by the sheriff to the board of registrars by noon on Wednesday, November 4, 2026
the day following the election. [§ 17-10-2(d)]

The county canvassing board must prepare and transmit to the Secretary of State a written
report itemizing the number of write-in votes cast for each separate federal or state office
and the total votes cast for each of the candidates (top two) receiving the greatest number
of votes for that office. [§ 17-6-28(c)]

Friday, November 6, 2026

Deadline for voters whose ballot became provisional due to lack of identification to provide
identification (or provisional ballot and identification) including the address and telephone Friday, November 6, 2026
number of the voter to the board of registrars no later than 5 PM [§ 17-10-2(a)(3)]
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2026 Statewide Election
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Alabama Statewide Primary Election - May 19, 2026
Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026
General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity Date

The county canvassing board must post a notice stating the number of write-in votes cast
in each office on the ballot and, for each specific county office on the ballot, stating whether
the number of write-in votes cast for the office is greater than or equal to the difference in
votes between the candidates receiving the greatest number of votes for the specific Monday, November 9, 2026
county office. The notice shall be posted on the door of the courthouse and any other
place deemed appropriate by the canvassing board including, but not limited to, a county
website. [§ 17-6-28(c)]

The county canvassing board must determine whether the number of write-in votes cast is
greater than or equal to the difference in votes between the candidates receiving the Monday, November 9, 2026
greatest number of votes for the specific county office. [§ 17-6-28(c)]

Upon receipt of all county reports setting out the number of write-in votes for each federal
or state office, the Secretary of State shall determine whether the number of write-in votes
cast statewide for any specific federal or state office is greater than or equal to the
difference in votes between the candidates receiving the greatest number of votes for that
office. In the event the Secretary of State determines that the number of write-in votes cast
statewide for any federal or state office is greater than or equal to the difference in votes
between the candidates receiving the greatest number of votes for that office, not later than
noon on the first Monday following the election, the Secretary of State shall notify each
judge of probate from a county where write-in votes for that office were cast that the write-
in votes for that office shall be counted and reported. [§ 17-6-28(c)]

Monday, November 9, 2026

Upon determining the number of write-in votes as required, all ballots, ballot images, or
results tapes with write-in votes shall be delivered to the sheriff who shall securely keep Tuesday, November 10, 2026
them in the same manner as provisional ballots are kept. [§ 17-10-2(d)]

When the number of write-in votes for any specific office is greater than or equal to the
difference in votes between the candidates receiving the greatest number of votes for that
office write-in votes shall be counted at the same time and in the same manner as
provisional ballots are counted. [§ 17-10-2(f)]

Absentee ballots submitted by UOCAVA voters must be accepted until noon this day. The
ballot must have been postmarked no later than election day and meet other absentee Tuesday, November 10, 2026
ballot requirement to be counted. [§ 17-11-18(b)]

The absentee election manager must report, for the general election, the number of military
and overseas ballots mailed out and the number of ballots received to the Secretary of Tuesday, November 10, 2026
State within 7 days after the election. [§ 17-11-5(d)]

The board of registrars must deliver the provisional voter affirmations and inspector
challenge statements, with the certified findings attached, to the probate judge no later Tuesday, November 10, 2026
than noon 7 days after the election. [§ 17-10-2(e)]

At noon, the canvassing board for poll workers shall tabulate provisional ballots which have
been certified by the board of registrars. The canvassing board must certify the results of
the provisional votes cast and must post one copy in the courthouse and must seal one Tuesday, November 10, 2026
copy into a container designated for each political party 7 days after the election. [§ 17-10-
2(f]

State Holiday - Veterans Day Wednesday, November 11, 2026
The county canvassing board must make in writing a public declaration of results by noon .

on the second Friday after the election. (§ 17-12-15) Friday, November 13, 2026

Tuesday, November 10, 2026

Prepared by Elections Division
Office of the Secretary of State State of Alabama 9 of 10



Administrative Calendar

2026 Statewide Election
Revised 5/6/2025
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Primary Runoff Election - June 16, 2026

General Election - November 3, 2026

Activity

Date

The county canvassing board must file the original canvass of returns for county offices,
including state House and state Senate, in the probate office, post a copy of the returns at
the courthouse door, and immediately transmit a copy of the returns by fax to the Secretary
of State. (§ 17-12-16)

Friday, November 13, 2026

The county canvassing board must file the county certificate of results for constitutional
officers with the judge of probate. The judge of probate must immediately forward the
certificate of results to the Secretary of State. (§ 17-12-16)

Friday, November 13, 2026

The Secretary of State must furnish certificates of election to members of the legislature
and members of Congress within 10 days of receiving returns from the judge of probate of
each county. (§ 17-12-21)

Monday, November 23, 2026

The last day for the Governor, Secretary of State, and Attorney General to canvass election
returns required by law to be sent to Secretary of State is within 22 days after the election.
(§ 17-12-17)

Wednesday, November 25, 2026

State Holiday - Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 26, 2026

State Holiday - Christmas Day

Friday, December 25, 2026

State Holiday - New Year's Day

Friday, January 1, 2027

Absentee election manager must file list of applications for absentee ballots from the
general election with probate judge 60 days after the election. [§ 17-11-5(c)]

Saturday, January 2, 2027

Inauguration Day for certain non-federal offices is on the first Monday after the second
Tuesday in January after the election. (§§ 36-3-1, 36-3-2, 36-3-3)

Monday, January 18, 2027

State Holiday - Martin Luther King, Jr. and Robert E. Lee's Birthday

Monday, January 18, 2027

The last day for Secretary of State to report information on the number of military and
overseas ballots mailed out and the number of ballots received to the Federal Election
Assistance Commission; within 90 days of each regularly scheduled general election for
federal office. [§ 17-11-5(d)]

Monday, February 1, 2027

The last day candidates in the general election can accept contributions to retire a
campaign debt is 120 days after the general election. [§ 17-5-7(b)(3)]

Wednesday, March 3, 2027

The sheriff can destroy ballots 22 months after general election unless there is notification
that election has been contested. (52 U.S.C. § 20701)

Sunday, September 3, 2028
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