Alabama Athlete Agents Commission 1st Quarter Meeting Minutes Alabama State House RSA Plaza 5th Floor Conference Room 770 Washington Ave Montgomery, Alabama 36130

March 29, 2024

The Alabama Athlete Agents Commission Meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairman Santiago Pinzon.

The invocation was given by Senator Allen.

All Commission members and visitors signed and acknowledged attendance.

Oath of Office was administered by Dr. Shemekwa Farrow to the newly appointed member, Chandler DeRieux.

Commission members voted on the election of officers for 2024. A motion was made for Matt Ball to serve as Commission Chairperson. Motion seconded and approved, none opposed. A motion was made for Todd Vardaman to serve as Commission Co-Chairperson. Motion seconded and approved, none opposed. A motion was made for Thomas Neely to serve as Treasurer. Motion seconded and approved, none opposed.

Commission members present at the meeting are as follows:

Commissioner Gerald Allen Lt. Governor Appointee

Commissioner Barbara Palmer Miles College

Commissioner Alvin Briggs Alabama High School Athletic Association

Commissioner Stephanie Thompson
Commissioner Ty Singletary

Alabama State University
University of South Alabama

Commissioner Santiago Pinzon Troy University

Commissioner Thomas Neely
Commissioner Katie O'Brien

Jacksonville State University
University of Montevallo

Commissioner Matt Ball
Commissioner Riley Edwards
Commissioner Nicholas Brown

Auburn University
University of Alabama
Tuskegee University

Commissioner Chandler DeRieux University of Alabama in Birmingham

Others in attendance are as follows:

Dr. Shemekwa Farrow
Ms. Mieka Callines

Administrative Analyst II, Office of the Secretary of State
State Professional Trainee, Office of the Secretary of State

Meridith Blackburn Deputy General Counsel, Secretary of State

Commission members not in attendance are as follows:

Vacant Governor's Office

Vacant Alabama A&M University

Commissioner Chris Blackshear Alabama Speaker of the House Appointee

Commissioner Todd Vardaman

Commissioner Mike Jones

Commissioner Julie Woltjen

University of North Alabama

University of West Alabama

University of Alabama, Huntsville

Commissioner Wes Allen Alabama Secretary of State

The minutes of the November 15, 2023 regular meeting (4th Quarterly Meeting) were reviewed by the Commissioners. A motion was made to accept the minutes of the November 15, 2023, regular meeting (4th Quarterly Meeting) and seconded. MOTION PASSED.

Commissioners decided to hold the following new applications, for pending information. A motion was made to hold the following applicants and seconded. MOTION PASSED.

- 1. Akbari, Kaveh
- 2. Aoki, Caitlin
- 3. Casanova, Jose
- 4. Esquire, Durvathehair
- 5. Hanna, Robert
- 6. Johnson. Valyncia
- 7. Smith, Lorenza
- 8. Stephens, Teco

Chairman Pinzon asked the Commission members to review the new applications named as follows:

1. Barham, Michael

2. Beda, Richard

3. Beedles, Christopher

4. Berry, Edward

5. Booker, Trever

6. Branion, Joby

7. Capra, Patrick

8. Collins, Patrick

9. Creasy, Michael

9. Cleasy, Michael

10. Deni, William Jr.

11. Edwards, Rodney 12. Fair, Christopher

13. Foley, Patrick

14. Glazier, Kristofer

15. Gurenlian, Mark

16. Hammond, Abigail

17. Haynes, Justin

18. Hernandez, Jose

19. Jackson, Sarah

20. Johnson, Fred

21. Kimball, James

22. Lee, Termaine

23. Locke, Jamal

24. Moore, Marlon

25. Mumfrey, Wyatt

26. Nissim, Ari

27. Palomo, Francisco

28. Pellum, Frederick II

29. Pieper, Mark

30. Rentfrow, Charles

- 31. Roberts, Collin
- 32. Schulman, Justin
- 33. Scott, Toney Jr.
- 34. Simpson, Derek
- 35. Stewart, Charles III
- 36. Thornton, John

- 37. Vazquez, Eloy
- 38. Walter, Benjamin
- 39. Webb, Peter
- 40. Wilson, Austin
- 41. Winston, Norman Jr.

Chairman Pinzon called for any objections for new applicants and seeing none, called for a motion to approve. A motion was made and seconded. MOTION PASSED.

Commissioners decided to hold the following renewal applications for pending additional information. A motion was made to hold the following applicants and seconded. MOTION PASSED.

- 1. Arceneaux, Joseph
- 2. Giangrande, Justin

Chairman Pinzon asked the Commission members to review the renewal applicant named as follows:

- 1. Bailey, Mark
- 2. Baranco-Martin, Leslie
- 3. Boras, Scott
- 4. Brandenburgh, Kyle
- 5. Butler, Damien
- 6. Cicala, Bradley
- 7. Conaty, William
- 8. Duffy, William
- 9. Fields, Chafie
- 10. Fox, Jared
- 11. Leeds, Mitchell
- 12. Litwin, Nate

- 13. Magid, Martin
- 14. Mintz, Aaron
- 15. O'Dare, Shawn
- 16. Perzley, Jonathan
- 17. Roberts, Richard
- 18. Segal, Joel
- 19. Silver, Eric
- 20. Vaynerchuk, Alan
- 21. Wiestling, Chad
- 22. Wright, Kary
- 23. Zager, Jackson

Chairman Pinzon called for any objections for renewal applicants and seeing none, called for a motion to approve. A motion was made and seconded. MOTION PASSED.

Dr. Shemekwa Farrow informed the commission that the administrative staff will no longer be reaching out to references as part of the application process, because of the extensive background check the staff will perform on each applicant. Chairman Pinzon asked if there were any objections to this change, and seeing none, called for a motion to approve. A motion was made and seconded. MOTION PASSED.

Senator Allen and Commissioner Alvin Briggs briefly discussed the future of N.I.L. in the state of Alabama.

Treasurer Thomas Neely provided the commission with the financial report.

The Commission decided on the next Commission meeting date of Wednesday, May 1, 2024 at 10:00 a.m. A motion was made and seconded. MOTION PASSED.

Chairman Pinzon called for a motion to adjourn. A motion was made and seconded. The meeting adjourned at 10:58 a.m. MOTION PASSED.

	Approved:Chairman, Matt Ball
	Chairman, Watt Ban
Minutes submitted by: Mieka Callines	
State of <i>Alabama</i> County of <i>Montgomery</i>	
Shemekwa Farrow, WITNESSED May 1, 2024	