Skip to main content Braille Voter Guide

Secretary of State Honors Staff for Service to State of Alabama


Thursday, February 18, 2021 – MONTGOMERY – Today, Secretary of State John H. Merrill honored staff who completed 5, 15, 20, and 25 years of service to the State of Alabama.

“These public servants wake up every single day with the intent of helping the people of Alabama, and I am grateful to have such a competent and qualified team,” noted Secretary Merrill. “These staff members work diligently to assist the public with a servant and helper’s heart. Their efforts ensure the Office of the Secretary of State operates efficiently and effectively, making the best use of taxpayer dollars.”

The awardees were as follows:

25-year recipients:

  • Renae Barron

  • Melissa Giddens

20-year recipients:

  • Lovetta Churchill

  • Tamara Cofield

  • Beth Jensen

  • Bernard McCaster

  • Edward Packard

15-year recipients:

  • Shemekwa Farrow

  • Tamara Moore

  • Elaine Swearengin

  • Karie Wilkerson

5-year recipients:

  • David Brewer

  • Taylor Freeman

  • Brittany Hamilton

Each staff member was awarded with a pin and celebratory certificate thanking them for their numerous years of faithful service.