Skip to main content Braille Voter Guide

Secretary John H. Merrill Named NASS Vice President of the Southern Region


July 13, 2017 - MONTGOMERY - The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the oldest non-partisan group public officials in the United States.  The group consists of appointed and elected Secretaries of State and selected Lieutenant Governors from all over the United States and U.S. Territories. This group was founded in 1904 to promote ideas and best practices among the nations Chief Elected Officials. The group also works to provide a unified message on issues which are important to the work of the Secretaries.

From July 7-10, NASS held their summer conference in Indianapolis, Indiana. At the conclusion of the meeting, Indiana Secretary of State Connie Lawson was elected as the organization's president for 2017-18.  Alabama Secretary of State John H. Merrill was elected as the Southeastern Vice-President by the members of the organization.

Secretary Merrill will represent the southeastern states in the role in 2017-18.  As a member of the NASS executive committee, he will meet with other members of the Executive Board to direct the agenda of the organization for the next year and to prepare appropriate and proper responses to issues of significance that relate to elections, business services, and other governmental processes.