Alabama Athlete Agent Commission Meeting Minutes

State House, Room 418

February 18, 2015

The Alabama Athlete Agent Commission Meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. by House of Representatives, Jack Williams, Commission Co-Chair.

The attendance register was passed for all to sign.

Commission members present at this meeting are listed below.

Honorable John H. Merrill
Honorable Gerald Allen
Honorable Jack Williams
Honorable Dana Gillis
Honorable Stephen Lautz
Honorable Greg Bonds
Honorable Kit Alewine
Honorable Jonathan Bowling
Honorable Julie Woltjen
Honorable Benjamin Gearhart

Honorable Janet Montgomery

Alabama Secretary of State
Alabama Senate
House of Representatives
Alabama A&M University
Auburn University
Jacksonville State University
Troy University
University of Alabama
University of Alabama, Birmingham
University of Alabama, Huntsville
University of Montevallo
University of West Alabama

Others in attendance:

Mr. David Brewer, Office of the Secretary of State

Mr. Brent Beal, Office of the Secretary of State

Ms. Shemekwa Farrow, Office of the Secretary of State

Mrs. Shaquinta Morgan, Office of the Secretary of State

Ms. Karen Reeves, Legislative Assistant to Representative Williams

Commission members not in attendance:

Honorable Kenneth Burroughs Honorable Deana Person Honorable Phillip Wallace Honorable Kevin Kendrick Honorable Kristina Villavicencio Governor's Office Tuskegee University Miles College Alabama State University University of South Alabama Honorable Tony Stallworth Honorable Todd Vardaman High School Athletic Association University of North Alabama

Secretary John H. Merrill was sworn in as a new commission member and Oath of Office was administered by Representative Williams.

Representative Jack Williams was nominated to serve as the Commission Chairman. Motion seconded and approved, none opposed. Jonathan Bowling was nominated to serve as Commission Vice Chairman. Motion seconded and approved, none opposed. Senator Gerald Allen will continue serving as Secretary/Treasurer.

The minutes of the December 3rd meeting were reviewed and a motion was made and seconded to approve. Motion passed unanimously.

Brent Beal from the Secretary of State's Office discussed various filing fees in comparison to what other states are charging. Secretary Merrill suggested that we raise fees to generate more funds for the state. He also suggested that we develop a relationship with the NFLPA (National Football League Players Association) and MLB (Major League Baseball) to compare their list of agents with ours. Senator Allen discussed why the Alabama fees are so low. Senator also raised awareness as to higher fees could result in agents not being able to register and possibly committing fraud.

Mr. Jerry Bassett discussed the 2000 Uniform Act and proposed new Athlete Agent Law for 2016.

Committee decided not to take any action on Vincent Porter at this time. The committee stated that he had only been charged but not had been found guilty. Vincent Porter license expires 4/22/15. It was determined that Mr. Porter had not submitted a renewal application.

Motion was made to revise Athlete Agent Application; to replace social security number with email address. Members approved and none opposed.

Commission members reviewed new and renewal athlete agent applications.

Commission requested that, prior to approval the applications for the following applicants are tabled until references can be verified: Greg Barnett, James Bolin, Christopher Graves, Elizabeth Guerriero, Malki Kawa, Tsubasa Kee, George Lashbrook, Daniel MacNeil, Ryan Matha, Mike McCartney and Frank Smith. All commission members approved, none opposed.

Representative Williams asked the commission members to review the new applications named as follows:

Benn Brewington III, Glen Lansky, Ari Nissim, Sanat Shah, Tanesha Steward and Herbert Stone III

Representative Williams called for any objections and seeing none called for a motion to approve all new applications as a group. A motion was made and seconded to approve all unanimously.

Representative Williams asked the commission members to review the renewing agent's names. He called for a motion to approve the renewing agents as a group and the motion was seconded and all approved.

The renewing agents are listed below:

- 1. Chris Turnage
- 2. John Branion
- 3. Scott Barber
- 4. Deryk Gilmore
- 5. Chafie Fields
- 6. Isaac Conner
- 7. Dawit Mulugheta
- 8. Jametta White
- 9. Michael Loeffler

The commission members decided on the next meeting date of April 29th at 10:00 a.m.

Motion was made to adjourn at 11:26 a.m. and seconded. All approved.

Approved:

House of Representatives, Jack Williams

Minutes submitted by Shaquinta Morgan

State of Alabama

County of Montgomery

Shemekwa L. Farrow, Notary Public

My commission expires September 16, 2017

Addendum

The minutes approved stated that Janet Montgomery whom represents University of West Alabama attended the 1st quarterly meeting held on February 18, 2015. However, Ms. Montgomery was not in attendance. Another commission member inadvertently signed in Ms. Montgomery's place on the signature register and therefore was included on the minutes in error.