spacer gif
(To Print this page, press the "Print" button on your browser. To return to the previous page, close this window.)
News Release Heading Image

July 13, 2011
National Association of Secretaries of State Inducts National Officers for 2011-2012

Daniels, WV – The National Association of Secretaries of State, currently holding its annual summer conference in Daniels, West Virginia, today inducted its new slate of national officers for the 2011-2012 cycle. Alabama Secretary of State Beth Chapman will serve as president through July 2012, marking only the second time in the association's 107-year history that an Alabama secretary of state has held the position.

"I am extremely honored to be playing a leadership role as we prepare for the next presidential election cycle and address key business-related issues at the state and federal levels," said Chapman. "As secretaries of state across the country struggle to do more with less during these challenging economic times, the National Association of Secretaries of State will help them - and their constituents - weather the ups and downs of the economy by promoting the best in state government practices and fostering effective leadership."

As a member of NASS, Chapman has been involved in military voting issues, civic education, small business outreach and international relations. She is also a member of the NASS Business Identity Theft Task Force, which was formed earlier this year to promote identity theft prevention strategies among the business community in every state.

The association also announced today that its members have selected former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice as the recipient of the Margaret Chase Smith American Democracy Award for acts of political courage. Rice, who once led the charge to foster democratic ideals in the rebuilding of Afghanistan and Iraq, also helped promote stable democracies in Eastern Europe and Latin America. Alabama Secretary of State Beth Chapman nominated Rice for the award.

Rice will be invited to receive the NASS award at its January 2012 winter meeting in Washington, DC.

For more on NASS, please visit


For more information, visit Secretary of State John H. Merrill’s Web Site: