spacer gif
(To Print this page, press the "Print" button on your browser. To return to the previous page, close this window.)
News Release Heading Image

December 15, 2008
Alabama Electoral College Results are Official

MONTGOMERY, Ala.-- The Alabama Electoral College meeting was held at 12:00 noon in the Alabama State Capitol. Secretary of State Beth Chapman was the meeting moderator.

The laws of the State of Alabama and United States provide that the Electors of each State meet and give their votes for President and Vice President on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December.

 The nine Electors representing the State of Alabama all voted for Senator John McCain and Governor Sarah Palin.

Alabama’s nine Electors are, in alphabetical order by last name: Les Barnett from Mobile County; Ralph A. Blythe, Tallapoosa County; Robert A. Cusanelli, Pickens County; Matthew Fridy, Shelby County, J. Elbert Peters, Madison County; Will Sellers, Montgomery County; W. Jack Stiefel, DeKalb County, Cam Ward, Shelby County, and James Eldon Wilson, Montgomery County.

Once the votes were cast, they were canvassed and six Certificates of Votes distributed, each with a Certificate of Ascertainment reporting the number of votes received by each Elector on November 4, 2008.

 One certificate goes to the President of the Senate to be opened in a joint session of Congress on January 6, 2009. Two sets go to National Archives and Records Administration, one filed for public inspection, and one set held subject to the order of the President of the Senate. One certificate is filed with the Chief Judge of the Federal Court District in which the Electors meet.  U.S. District Judge Mark Fuller is the Chief Judge of the Middle District of Alabama in which Montgomery is located. The remaining two certificates go to Secretary of State Beth Chapman, one filed for public inspection, and one held subject to the order of the President of the Senate.


For more information, visit Secretary of State John H. Merrill’s Web Site: